Maha Kumbh | Book Maha Kumbh Online Puja
Maha Kumbh | Book Maha Kumbh Online Puja

Maha Kumbh

Bhagwan -
Category - Other
Service Provider - Bhagwan Bhajan
5000 /-

Maha Kumbh

Maha Kumbh is a holy pilgrimage and festival in Hinduism. It is celebrated in a cycle every 12 years at four river banks pilgrimage site- Prayagraj (Ganga, Yamuna, Saraswati rivers confluence), Ujjain (Shipra), Haridwar (Ganga), Nashik (Godavari).

Maha Kumbh is mainly a holy dip in the sacred river.

No doubt it is the largest gathering of faith in which from the whole of the world people participate and take bath in the sacred or holy river.

The term roughing it takes a whole different meaning in the Kumbh. The sea of humanity, the ocean of tents, the colorful flags, lakhs of pilgrims taking a dip in the water, the smell of smoke from the holy fires, the beautiful sunrise all these will restore your love for humanity.

Attendees at the Kumbh Mela come from all sections of Hindu religious life, ranging from sadhus (holy men), who remain naked year-round or practice the most severe physical discipline, to hernits, who leave their isolation only for these pilgrimages, and even to silk-clad teachers using the latest technology.

Story Behind Maha Kumbh :

Legend has it that in the mythological times, during a waging war between the demigods and demons for the possession of elixir of eternal life, a few drops  of it had fallen on to four places that are today known as Prayag, Haridwar, Nashik, Ujjain.

It is believed that these drops gave mystical powers to these places. It is to make oneself gain on those powers that Kumbh Mela has been celebrated in each of the four places since long as one can remember.

  • The Normal Kumbh Mela is held every 3 years,
  • the Ardh (half) Kumbh Mela is held every six years at Haridwar and Allahabad (Prayag)
  • while the Purna Kumbh Mela takes place every twelve years,  at four places  Allahabad, Nashik, Haridwar, Ujjain based on planetry movements.
  • The Maha Kumbh Mela is celebrated at Prayag after 144 years (after 12 ‘Purna Khumbh Melas’) .

It is correctly said that Kumbh Mela is the world’s largest religious and cultural human gathering. Crores of pilgrims over a course of 48 days take bathe in the holy rivers.  Devotees mainly sadhus, sadhvis, ascetics, pilgrims etc. from across the world take part in this mela.

Types of Kumbh Melas:

Maha Kumbh Mela:

It is held only in Prayagraj. It comes in every 144 years or after 12 Purna (Complete) Kumbh Mela.

Purna Kumbh Mela:

It comes every 12 years. Mainly held at 4 Kumbh Mela Places in India i.e. Prayagraj, Haridwar, Nashik, and Ujjain.

It rotates every 12 years at these 4 places.

Ardh Kumbh Mela:

It means Half Kumbh Mela which is held every 6 years in India only at two places  i.e. Haridwar and Prayagraj.

Kumbh Mela:

Held at four different places and is organized by the state governments. Millions of people participate with spiritual enthusiasm.

Magh Kumbh Mela:

It is also known as Mini Kumbh Mela which is held annually and only at Prayagraj. It is organised in the month of Magh according to the Hindu Calendar.

The place of Khumbh Mela is decided according to the position of the Sun, Moon and Jupiter hold in that period in different zodiac signs.

Since then, Kumbh Mela is celebrated with all the rituals beliefs and people from different aspects gather to celebrate the eve.

© 2023 Bhagwan Bhajan - Free Bhagwan HD Wallpaper | Developed by Techup Technologies - Website & App Development Company